CD Release for new album CORPUS CALLOSUM

Sharing the bill are guests SLOMO DRAGS and WÖLFDORK

$5 Advanced, $10 Day of Show

Ticket Link:

Facebook Event:

Jeff "Horti" Hortillosa, is an eloquent lyricist, a badass guitarist, and an unpredictably comedic live performer. One of Austin's most well-rounded musicians, Horti sings with a timeless voice thats jazzy, bluegrass, and grungy all at once. Horti is well traveled and eclectic, and his songs reflect this; with lyrics ranging from fluffy to heavy, hopeful to nihilistic, told through the lens of ambiguous characters in colorful landscapes. Humorous, poetic, and often strange, he hopes to capture the fractured snippets of the human experience and glue them back down into a collage that exists in the past present and future. 

The self-produced Corpus Callosum is full of catchy melodies and crunchy riffs. The record varies wildly from song to song. Each track is created with a distinctly unqiue flavor. From Bossa Nova to Indie Rock, Swing Jazz to Honky-Tonk, Americana to surfy pop rock...Corpus Callosun record goes beyond the limitations of any easily defined genre. Joining him are a handful of Austin's finest and hardest working musicians, Kris Wade (co-producer, engineer) on electric bass, James Gwyn on drums, Micah Motenko on keys, along with a handful more. From start to finish, it's designed to be experienced as if walking through a gallery, a museum, a theme park, a city tour, a steady journey through vignettes.

"Welcome to the brain of our weird, and wily friend, Horti..." 


Produced by: Horti

Recorded at: 6 String Ranch, Austin TX, 2017

Music, lyrics, and arrangement by: Jeff Hortillosa

Head Engineer, co-producer: Kristopher Lee Wade

Mastered by Nick Landis at Terra Nova Digital Audio, Inc. Austin, TX


BASS: Kristopher Lee Wade

DRUMS: James Gwyn

KEYS: "Magic" Micah Motenko

FIDDLE (Pretty and Stupid): Eddie Dickerson

PEDAL STEEL (Pretty and Stupid): Sam Kosler

CLARINET (You Can't Make me Pie): "Daddy" Neil Motenko

BEER AND CONDOMS (ADDITIONAL VOCALS): Hannah Moore, Luke Klima, Jessica Klima, Daddy Motenko, Sam Kosler, Magic Micah, James Gwyn, Kris Wade

EVERYONE SUCKS (Ooo's and Aaaah's) - Ann Wade, Meredith Kimbrough, Bethany Galloway

SCIENCE: Sophia Johnson

ART the character: Bethany Galloway



ART the album art: Jessica Pisani

"Thanks to all my family, my friends, Hannah my sweet, los Whiskey Shiveros, P. Cass n Crew, and all the hard working singer songwritin drum playin guitar riffin bass slappin key mashin synth paddin rappin shoutin harmonizin orchestral badasses in the town of AUSTIN TEXAS and all over the world. Shoutout to all the live engineers, producers, and studio engineers who took my questions seriously, and answered them honestly (big dabs for #Frenchie and #Sean). RIP Mitchell, Jay, and Porter. Miss ya every day boys, you'll never be forgotten."